Game Management Proceedures

ARRIVAL AT THE GYM (see Rule 5-4-1a)

Time: 45 minutes minimum…1 hour if you have to change clothes
If you arrive at the same time as your partner, greet each of the coaches together. Spend less than 30 seconds with the greeting.
If you arrive separately, start checking the facility, equipment. Try to greet coaches together.

PRE—MATCH CONFERENCE (see Rule 5-4-1h)
Get to the point – take no more than 1 minute if that long…remind about Dead ball area….backboards
Avoid saying this… “The lines around the court….”….”The ceiling is in play on your side of the court”

PRE-MATCH WARMUP - (see handout)

Question:           Pre-Match Warmup – Should it be whistle or horn that is used by the R2?  - Our handout states both in the sections with the serving team/receiving teams to begin/end their 6 minute warmup periods.

Answer:            The horn must be used. Only in a situation where a horn is not available should the whistle be used.

R2 should get to a position to see the numbers on the players
Between sets, the R2 should not wait until both teams are on the court before checking lineups – When one team goes out to their positions, check that lineup.
The Libero does not have to stand at the sideline when the R2 is checking lineups prior to a set
There may be multiple Libero’s on the bench, but only one can play in a set

END A TIME-OUT SEGMENT (see Rule 11-2-3)
End the timeout with a horn
WARN with the whistle at 15 seconds if both teams have not returned to the court.
However, if both teams are ready to play, the R2 direct the timer to sound the horn to end the timeout
If a team is not coming out of a timeout…R2 should begin to move toward them so they see you begin a verbal warning.
(see Timeout Protocol reference sheet in match forms)

Question:   Re Protocol sheet…..  Pre-match warmups & time-outs   --  Our handout states both the horn/whistle is to be used by the R2 that time is up in that period.  Do we use the horn or the whistle to end the time period?

Answer:  The horn must be used. Only in a situation where a horn is not available should the whistle be used.

END A SET (see Rule 11-5)

Teams do not have to go to the end line after the beginning of the 1st set
R2 should move to the right to insure the team is moving toward the R1 to change courts
R2 make sure the clock starts when the ref releases the teams to their benches
R2 get the line-ups to the coaches if needed
Secure all the game balls (don’t let the ball crew play with them between sets)

The R1 can get off the stand if needed…Stand near the platform facing the court….Or go to the score table…The R1 may sit behind the stand in front row of bleachers, if no one is in the area.

The R2 whistles a warning at 2 minutes/30 seconds (when there is 30 seconds left in the timeout). The horn will be used to end the Time-out period. The R2 directs the Timer to sound the horn when 3 minutes have expired UNLESS both teams are on the court. (turn the horn off)

Rule 1-2-2 They must conduct a promotion or recognition if the team declares there will be an intermission.

R2 At the 23/13 point check with scorer to agree on the score
At “point game”, signal the R1 (R1 does not signal back)
Teams do not have to go to the end line after the final set
R2 Checks the final score…Collect the flags and game balls
R1 After getting off the stand, go to the table immediately if possible, but do not cross the patch of the teams/coaches
If they have started final greetings at the net or blocking you from the table, wait, or circle around on the winning side

Officials should gather personal equipment and leave promptly
If the tension or passion at the end of the game is excessive, both officials should head to the door immediately

One player enters the sub zone at a time to go into the game
If multiple players are coming out of the set, there is no restriction on where they stand on the court near the sub zone area (see Rule 10-2-3)

R2 be aware of “triggers” (when it could occur)…Line judge makes a close call…Coach walking toward the line judge…Coach putting hands in the air
Possible Responses from R2

Can I answer a question you have?
Coach you can send your captain over to ask the question (rather than talk across the court)

R1 should not engage if coach questions judgment (see Rule 12-2-8)